Available records from the MOI, Czech republic a total of 7377 visas were issued in 2013 by the Czech Embassy in New Delhi. The total number of applications have increased in last few years, for Czech Republic is becoming a popular destination with more and more Indians are traveling to Czech Republic.”

Basic information

Since December 21 2007, Schengen visas are issued by Czech Republic, after joining the Schengen Area (and in according to the Regulations (EC) no. 810/2009 of the European parliament and of the council of 13 July 2009 establishing a Community Code on Visas.

Schengen Visas issued by Czech embassy allows you free movement in the following states:

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Germany, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Austria, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Czech Embassy in New Delhi issues visas to the nationals of India, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal.

Note: Sri Lankan nationals are advised to apply the French embassy in Colombo, as since 15th of November 2013 the Czech Republic is represented in issuing Schengen visas by France at French Embassy in Colombo.

Holder of any Schengen (Short-term) visa can stay on the territory of the Czech Republic, unless the Czech Republic has been excluded from the territorial validity of the visa.

Once you receive your visa you can always check the authenticity of the same in the PUBLIC REGISTER OF AUTHENTIC TRAVEL AND IDENTITY DOCUMENTS ONLINE ( P R A D O) of  the “Council of the European Union”

IMPORTANT “90/180 rule”
According to a “90/180 rule,” a foreigner can stay in the Czech Republic/Schengen area for a maximum of 90 days within any 180 days. After a 90 days long stay, it is necessary to travel out of the Czech Republic/Schengen area. This rule does not pertain to aliens who:
(1) are citizens of those countries with which the Czech Republic has concluded a bilateral visa free agreement before its entry into the EU (i.e. Argentina, Chile, Costarica, Croatia, Honduras, Israel, Malaysia, Panama, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Uruguay) – these aliens however need to travel out of the Schengen area after a 90 days long stay at least for one day;
(2) stayed in the Czech Republic/Schengen area based on a Schengen visa and their subsequent stay will be based on a Czech national visa (these visas are issued only in exceptional cases);
(3) will stay in the Czech Republic based on a long-term visa or long-term residency permit.